C

Cr122

Scout's Eye: Hall of Fame Game review
August, 10, 2010

By Bryan Broaddus

Here are the things that stood out when I studied the Hall of Fame Game:

*Offensive tackle Doug Free was able to carry over the nice two weeks of camp that he had in San Antonio into the game against the Bengals.

Free was patient, athletic and played with power. His footwork was solid and his hand placement was dead on. Free showed the ability to adjust on the move and mirror Antwan Odom without any difficulty. When he had to get push in the running game, he was able to work his hands inside and play with leverage.

There is a real ease of movement in his game. He did not play out of balance or on the edge at all.

*With Marcus Spears out of the game with a knee injury, it was an opportunity for Jason Hatcher and Stephen Bowen to get some work with the first group. Was impressed with Bowen and not with Hatcher.

Bowen was an up-the-field player and was a huge factor in the pass rush with his ability to work in the games that Phillips was using against the Bengals in passing situations. Bowen was relentless in his effort to get to Palmer and O’Sullivan.

Bowen played with nice technique the running game as well. He can be difficult to handle when he is on the move. Bowen has a feel for how to free himself from blocks.

Thought it was a missed chance for Hatcher. Like the player and what he brings, but there were limited flashes as compared to Bowen. Hatcher didn’t play off the blocks as well.

Don’t know if his elbow might have been a factor, but he seemed to get tied up at times. Didn’t see him control the blocker like he had in the past. Know he is a better pass rusher than what he showed.

Hatcher was a solid nickel player in 2009. Needs to play better with this chance.

*Outside linebacker Victor Butler was all over the field on Sunday night. Run or pass, it didn’t matter.