Jon88

Pro Bowler
Reaction score
gyi0062970408.0_standard_709.0.jpg

The San Francisco 49ers hired head coach Jim Harbaugh three years ago, who took over a team that had not been to an NFC Championship game since 1996. Under Harbaugh, the 49ers have at least been to the NFC title game all three seasons, including a Super Bowl appearance in 2013.

However, that might not be enough to keep the two sides together for very long, according to Jason La Canfora of CBS. Harbaugh and general manager Trent Baalke are "barely speaking," according to La Canfora, and there are reportedly many clashes between Harbaugh and others within the organization, including team president Paraag Marathe.

La Canfora also says that should Harbaugh be jettisoned either by trade or an unthinkable release, the 49ers would likely promote defensive line coach Jim Tomsula. The notion of San Francisco and Harbaugh having problems arose with the news of the 49ers and Cleveland Browns having talks about a trade which would have centered around sending Harbaugh to the banks of Lake Erie.

How did things unravel to this point? Here's a timeline of the drama:

Friday, 4:28 p.m.: Mike Florio of Pro Football Talk reported that the Browns had been in trade discussions for Harbaugh, hoping to fill their head coaching vacancy with the former quarterback. The deal was killed by Harbaugh, who did not want to leave for Cleveland.

Supposedly, the trade would have involved the Browns sending multiple picks to San Francisco.

Friday: 5:21 p.m.: Jon Stinchcomb of Dawgs By Nature compiled a bevy of tweets that Joe Lull of 92.3 The Fan in Cleveland fired off as the news was breaking from Florio about Harbaugh and the Browns.

Lull had previously reported that all the candidates for the Browns' head coaching job had not been brought to light. At the time, he wasn't willing to disclose who the man was, per Chris Pokorny of Dawgs By Nature.