Reaction score
Thoughts from Valley Ranch this week as the Cowboys prepare for Sunday's rematch with the Giants.

· Ernie Sims was signed Wednesday and hit the practice field the same day. There really isn’t much time here and no bye week to work with to get him ready to play. He’ll dress Sunday against the Giants and will most likely have a big role in the Cowboys’ nickel packages. In games I studied of Sims, he looked comfortable in coverage, which something he will be called on to do for Dallas. These Giants running backs do a nice job of catching balls out of the backfield and on screens.

· Felix Jones was limited at practice on Thursday, which meant that Phillip Tanner and Lance Dunbar took most of the work with the first offense. In the season opener, the Giants gave up some runs to DeMarco Murray in “12” personnel off the edges. Would like to see head coach Jason Garrett take advantage of Jones and Dunbar’s speed because the Giants linebackers struggle with quicker backs in their scheme. Tanner would be great to hammer on them as well to try and kill a game like he did last week against Carolina, but the speed of Jones and Dunbar present different problems.

· Will be interesting this week to see if coordinator Rob Ryan once again comes up with a package that uses five and six defensive backs. The Giants can hit you with three wide receivers and tight end Martellus Bennett as a downfield player. Last week, Ryan treated tight end Greg Olsen as a receiver when he put cornerback Mike Jenkins on him for a play. Orlando Scandrick will continue to play the slot which means he will be on Giants receiver Victor Cruz. Ryan then can use Jenkins, Morris Claiborne and Brandon Carr any way he wants to handle the other Giants weapons. Carr and Jenkins could take Hakeem Nicks and Bennett with Claiborne covering the third receiver. The good thing with all this is that Ryan has options.